Each year, ACM SIGGRAPH honors its members with ACM SIGGRAPH awards for researchers, practitioners, artists, and educators. In addition, the SIGGRAPH Conference honors contributors from different areas of the conference.

ACM SIGGRAPH 2020 Awards

ACM SIGGRAPH presents awards to recognize exceptional achievements in computer graphics and interactive techniques. The awards are presented at the annual SIGGRAPH North American conference. For more information about the awards and the individuals being honored, please visit the ACM SIGGRAPH awards page.


The Computer Graphics Achievement Award

Kavita Bala
Computer Science Department, Cornell University

The Significant New Researcher Award

Alec Jacobson
University of Toronto

The Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award

Tzu-Mao Li

Honorable Mentions

  • Yun Raymond Fei, Columbia University
  • Mina Konakovic Lukovic, École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne

The Outstanding Service Award

Thierry Frey
Reel FX

The Distinguished Artist Award for Lifetime Achievement in Digital Art

Jeffrey Shaw
City University of Hong Kong, Chair Professor of Media Art

ACM SIGGRAPH Practitioner Award

Elizabeth Baron
Unity Technologies

ACM SIGGRAPH Distinguished Educator Award

Donald P. (Don) Greenberg
Cornell University


  • Kavita Bala, Cornell University
  • Elizabeth Baron, Unity Technologies
  • Eugene Fiume, Simon Fraser University
  • Ming C Lin, University of Maryland
  • Hanspeter Pfister, Harvard University
  • Alla Sheffer, University of British Columbia